Man is by nature a political animal.

5 Jun

One of the greatest Philosophers of all time characterised the nature of man.

‘Man is by nature a political animal.’

The Greeks knew politics, they invented the basis for modern democracy. So Aristotle’s words ring true, for all of us. Politics is in our nature. Whether we like it or not. Instilled in all of us, is a desire and a want to have some sort of say in the decision making process that affects our society. Whether that be by running for President, voting, or even by voicing your opinions on a social network, We all have an intrinsic need to let people know what we think and why.

Why though, are some of us more vocal than others? The answer to this is specific to each of us. Some of us go through academia, some through grassroots programme and others like to have their tuppence worth in the comments section of The Independent online

I decided to pursue a career in politics, because they said I couldn’t. Simple. When I decided to study Politics and International Relations at University, the most asked question was ‘Why don’t you become a Dentist/Doctor/Insert-medicine-related-field-here?’ Instead of rethinking my decision, it just made me firm in my decision. That regardless of being a double minority (Muslim and Indian) and a woman, I will be able to pursue a degree and a career in International Politics.

Since beginning my degree, countering stereotypes has been my main focus. Since September 2001, I feel as though, and I’m sure many other Muslims do too, I have become a walking, talking stereotype. So engaging in Politics, for me, is a serious way to counter stereotypes of Islam as are seen today. Religion and politics have become inextricably linked and it is vital that those of us that identify as both political and religious use any available platform to discuss and counter such stereotypes.

And finally, the ‘You’re a woman’ comment. I’ve learnt to let that one slide. I know my gender is not a weakness and it will never prevent me from doing what I love. If someone else can’t see that, well that’s just their loss.

Man is by nature a political animal. So is a woman.

Leave a Reply

